Today in climate change (7 June 2016)

Please find links below to some aspects of climate change and extreme weather that were in the news today…

Spike in Alaska Wildfires is Worsening Global Warming http://www.climatecentral.org/news/alaska-wildfires-worsening-global-warming-20411?utm_content=bufferf4339&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Climate Champions Release Detailed Roadmap http://newsroom.unfccc.int/climate-action/global-climate-action-agenda/

First Nations communities suffering ‘more intense’ impact of climate change, secret briefings say http://www.vancouversun.com/news/national/first+nations+communities+suffering+98more+intense+impact/11960757/story.html

Drought in Ethiopia “This is a climate crisis” http://www.nrc.no/?did=9219095#.V1X1NjV97IX

Climate impacts laid bare as Europe’s flood waters ease http://tcktcktck.org/2016/06/climate-impacts-laid-bare-europes-flood-waters-ease/

EU states to be asked to ratify climate deal in June http://phys.org/news/2016-06-eu-states-ratify-climate-june.html

Extent of Ocean Surface Above 86 Degrees (F) Hits New Record During May of 2016 https://robertscribbler.com/2016/06/06/extent-of-ocean-surface-above-86-degrees-f-hits-new-high-during-may-of-2016/

A Startling Map of How Sea-Level Rise Will Affect NYC http://www.citylab.com/weather/2016/06/how-sea-level-rise-will-affect-nyc-mapped-new-york-city/485123/?platform=hootsuite

Record High Temps vs. Record Low Temp http://www.climatesignals.org/data/record-high-temps-vs-record-low-temp

Past, present, future: how human evolution and climate are linked https://theconversation.com/past-present-future-how-human-evolution-and-climate-are-linked-57336

 

Advertisements

Today in climate change (6 June 2016)

Please find links below to some aspects of climate change and extreme weather that were in the news today…

Arctic could become ice-free for first time in more than 100,000 years, claims leading scientist http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/climate-change/arctic-could-become-ice-free-for-first-time-in-more-than-100000-years-claims-leading-scientist-a7065781.html?utm_content=buffer74980&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Europe’s floods come at no surprise http://climatenewsnetwork.net/europes-floods-come-as-no-surprise/

Impacts of Climate Change Policy in The Real World https://wattsupwiththat.com/2016/06/05/impacts-of-climate-change-policy-in-the-real-world/

Warming Could Boost Carbon Storage in Alaska Forests http://www.climatecentral.org/news/climate-change-carbon-storage-alaska-forests-20407?utm_content=buffer58d7f&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

7 major changes the Prairies will see as the climate warms http://globalnews.ca/news/2737811/7-major-changes-the-prairies-will-see-as-the-climate-warms/

Water Scarcity: Implications in the Face of Climate Change http://edmdigest.com/news/water-scarcity-implications-in-the-face-of-climate-change/