Today in climate change (20 July 2016)

Please find links below to some aspects of climate change and extreme weather that were in the news today…

Watch the Climate Change Ad Fox News Refused to Run http://www.ecowatch.com/climate-change-ad-fox-news-refused-to-run-1929513722.html

Reconsidering meteorological seasons in a changing climate http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs10584-016-1704-3

Dangerous heat dome setting up shop over U.S. will roast millions in oppressive humidity http://mashable.com/2016/07/18/heat-dome-heat-wave-us/#1BeUCFqTBkqP

Long-awaited breakthrough in the reconstruction of warm climate phases https://www.awi.de/nc/en/about-us/service/press/press-release/langersehnter-durchbruch-in-der-rekonstruktion-warmer-klimaphasen.html

Tropical cyclones on track to grow more intense as temperatures rise http://phys.org/news/2016-07-tropical-cyclones-track-intense-temperatures.html

GIS Data of the World’s Glaciers https://www.gislounge.com/gis-data-worlds-glaciers/

New Findings Confirm Climate Risks Facing Boston https://www.barrfoundation.org/blog/new-findings-confirm-climate-risks-facing-boston

“Living Shorelines” Will Get Fast Track to Combat Sea Level Rise http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/living-shorelines-will-get-fast-track-to-combat-sea-level-rise/

NASA says 2016 will likely set a global annual temperature record http://www.nytimes.com/2016/07/20/science/nasa-global-temperatures-2016.html?smid=tw-nytimesscience&smtyp=cur

The Hottest Cities in U.S. vs. the Fastest Warming http://www.climatecentral.org/news/fastest-warming-cities-20535?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+climatecentral%2FdjOO+Climate+Central+-+Full+Feed

First Half of 2016 Blows Away Temp Records http://www.climatecentral.org/news/first-half-of-2016-record-hot-by-far-20540?utm_content=buffer64df4&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Charting Ice Sheet Contributions to Global Sea Level Rise https://eos.org/project-updates/charting-ice-sheet-contributions-to-global-sea-level-rise

NASA Science Flights Target Melting Arctic Sea Ice http://www.nasa.gov/feature/goddard/2016/nasa-science-flights-target-melting-arctic-sea-ice

Flood damages in Germany could multiply under climate change http://phys.org/news/2016-07-germany-climate.html

Advertisements

Published by

NeilDufty

I write non-fiction about disaster management and resilience. I also write fiction including poems and short stories.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s