Today in climate change (14 July 2017)

Climate

Please find links below to recent climate change news…

America’s nearing a record number of weather disasters, and it’s not even hurricane season yet http://grist.org/briefly/americas-already-closing-in-on-a-record-number-of-weather-disasters-and-its-not-even-peak-hurricane-season-yet/

The contiguous United States had its 2nd warmest year-to-date and a warmer than average June https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/news/national-climate-201706

World Leaders Move Forward on Climate Change, Without U.S. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/07/08/world/europe/group-of-20-climate-change-agreement.html?smid=tw-share

With ‘more at stake’ than any other city, New Orleans issues climate action strategy https://thinkprogress.org/new-orleans-releases-climate-action-strategy-c585b8fdfac3

Climate Impact Lab http://www.impactlab.org/

The West Is on Fire As Heat Records Fall http://www.climatecentral.org/news/west-on-fire-heat-records-fall-21606

By 2100, Deadly Heat May Threaten Majority of Humankind http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2017/06/heatwaves-climate-change-global-warming/

The Arctic Has Been Crazy Warm All Year. This Is What It Means for Sea Ice http://www.climatecentral.org/news/arctic-crazy-warm-sea-ice-21599

Just 100 companies responsible for 71% of global emissions, study says https://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/2017/jul/10/100-fossil-fuel-companies-investors-responsible-71-global-emissions-cdp-study-climate-change

Deluges Follow Droughts as ‘Hydrological Extremes’ Become ‘New Normal’ http://www.insurancejournal.com/news/national/2017/07/10/457052.htm?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Prevent climate risk in coasts, before it’s too late http://www.preventionweb.net/files/53995_53995risckitstoryreviewedfinaljune2.pdf

New research suggests that warm spells at the top of the world can, surprisingly, cause unusually cold weather in parts of North America https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/energy-environment/wp/2017/07/10/the-stubbornly-persistent-idea-about-climate-change-that-just-wont-go-away/?utm_term=.9e1cc4fd9577

Australia has enjoyed another bumper month for rooftop solar installations http://reneweconomy.com.au/record-half-year-rooftop-solar-another-bumper-month-25483/

Sea level rise research in Nature Communications https://www.nature.com/collections/ybtrhscfct

Government of Tuvalu launches new coastal protection project to bolster resilience to climate change http://www.adaptation-undp.org/government-tuvalu-launches-new-coastal-protection-project-bolster-resilience-climate-change#.WWRoCOGr5XU.twitter

Cities adapt to extreme heat https://www.iclr.org/citiesadaptheat.html

Kiwi scientists help build ‘goldmine’ climate database http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11889027

The 2k Network http://www.pages-igbp.org/ini/wg/2k-network/intro

Kiribati confronts climate upheaval by preparing for ‘migration with dignity’ https://news.mongabay.com/2017/07/kiribati-confronts-climate-upheaval-by-preparing-for-migration-with-dignity/

This Map Shows Warming’s Fingerprints on Weather http://www.climatecentral.org/news/map-global-warming-extreme-weather-21601

Increasing frequency and duration of Arctic winter warming events http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/2017GL073395/abstract?utm_content=buffer590fa&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Climate Risk and Early Warning Systems (CREWS) Initiative Expands http://floodlist.com/forecasting-warning-systems/wmo-climate-risk-early-warning-systems

Giant iceberg splits from Antarctic http://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-40321674

The Larsen C Iceberg Finally Broke Away. Now There’s a Trillion-Ton Iceberg Adrift http://www.climatecentral.org/news/larsen-c-trillion-ton-iceberg-break-21610

Communities and Experts Collaborate for Climate Resilience https://eos.org/agu-news/communities-and-experts-collaborate-for-climate-resilience

Lightning as a major driver of recent large fire years in North American boreal forests https://www.nature.com/nclimate/journal/v7/n7/full/nclimate3329.html

Advanced Modeling Technique Suggests Extreme Coastal Sea Levels More Likely https://today.ucf.edu/new-data-advanced-modeling-technique-suggest-extreme-coastal-sea-levels-likely/

Doomsday narratives about climate change don’t work. But here’s what does https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/jul/12/doomsday-narratives-climate-change-dangerous-wrong?CMP=share_btn_tw

Greenhouse Gases Are Rapidly Changing the Atmosphere http://www.climatecentral.org/news/greenhouse-gases-atmosphere-21618

Two millenia of data points to human-induced climate change http://newatlas.com/climate-change-database-millenia/50446/

Arctic Heat Is Becoming More Common and Persistent http://www.climatecentral.org/news/arctic-heat-more-common-and-persistent-21614

Ground breaking study outlines what you can do about climate change https://grist.org/briefly/groundbreaking-study-outlines-what-you-can-do-about-climate-change/

Scientists say Miami could cease to exist in our children’s lifetime http://www.businessinsider.com/miami-could-disappear-climate-change-2017-7/?r=AU&IR=T

Sea Level Rise to Flood Major U.S. Cities https://www.ecowatch.com/sea-level-rise-flooding-2458509093.html

 

 

Advertisements

Published by

NeilDufty

I write non-fiction about disaster management and resilience. I also write fiction including poems and short stories.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s